

APPLICATION FOR ASSESSMENT REDUCTION FOR LIVING QUARTERS OF PARENTS OR GRANDPARENTS

DR-501PGP R. 01/25 Rule 12D-16.002 F.A.C. Page 1 of 2 Provisional

Section 193.703, Florida Statutes

Due to the property appraiser by **March 1**.

County						T	ax year 20	
Owner of the Homes	steaded Pr	operty	/					
I am applying for asses	sment redu	ction 🗌	New applicat	ion	Cr	ange [Renewal	
Applicant				Co-applicant		ant		
name				name				
Address				Legal description				
				or parcel id		d		
Describe the construction	on or recons	struction	n for the living	quart	ers			
				•				
Completion date of living quarters				Did you get a building permit? ☐ yes ☐ no				
If there is a change or add	dition to the u	se of thi	s property, plea	ase ex	plain			
Parents or Grandpa	rents Livir	ng on t	he Property			(At leas	st one must be age 62 or over)	
•			grandparent 1				Parent/grandparent 2	
Name			-					
Marital status	single married widowed			divo	vorced single married widowed divorced			
		no If yes, date of birth				yes no If yes, date of birth		
	Proof of age					Proof of	age	
Relationship to owner								
Address last year								
Did this person file tax exemptions last year?	☐ yes ☐ i	no				☐ yes	no	
Proof of Reside	nce		Parent/gran	ndpare	ent 1		Parent/grandparent 2	
Last became a permanent resident of Florida		Date					Date	
Occupied applicant's homestead on		Date					Date	
Florida driver license or ID card number		#					#	
Florida vehicle tag number		#					#	
Florida voter registration number, if US citizen		#					#	
Declaration of Domicile residency date		Date					Date	
Current employer	*							
Address on last IRS return								

I authorize the property appraiser to obtain information to determine my eligibility for this assessment reduction. I certify that each parent or grandparent above resided primarily on the property on January 1 and does not claim homestead exemption in Florida or any other residence-based exemption or tax benefit in another state. I am a permanent resident of the State of Florida. I own and occupy the property. I certify all information on this application and any attachment is true, correct, and in effect on January 1 of this year.

Signature, applicant	Date	Signature, qualifying parent/grandparent 1	Date	
Signature, co-applicant	Date	Signature, qualifying parent/grandparent 2		

INSTRUCTIONS

Assessment Reduction Requirements

Parent or Grandparent Living Quarters. Your county may offer a reduction to the assessed value of your homestead property as a result of construction or reconstruction on your property for the purpose of providing living quarters for one or more natural or adoptive parents or grandparents over the age of 62 (see s. 193.703, F.S.).

Penalties

The property appraiser has a duty to put a tax lien on your property if you received an assessment limitation during the past 10 years that you were not entitled to receive. The property appraiser will notify you that taxes with penalties and interest are due. You will have 30 days to pay before a lien is recorded. If this was not an error by the property appraiser, you will be subject to a penalty of 50 percent of the unpaid taxes and 15 percent interest each year (see s. 193.703(7), F.S.).

If you improperly receive an assessment limitation as a result of the property appraiser's clerical mistake or omission, you will not be assessed penalties or interest.

For tax years beginning in 2025, if you improperly receive an assessment limitation as a result of the property appraiser's clerical mistake or omission, and you disclose the error to the property appraiser before you receive a notice of intent to record a lien, you will not be charged back taxes, penalties, or interest.

Contact your local property appraiser if you have questions about your assessment reduction.

File the signed application with the county property appraiser.