Property Appraiser of Miami-Dade County

Everything You Need to Know

About the Homestead Exemption

HOMESTEAD EXEMPTION AND
PROPERTY TAX BENEFITS

The Homestead Exemption is a valuable property tax
benefit that can save homeowners up to $50,000 on
their taxable value. The Homestead Exemption
includes an additional benefit which limits the annual
increase of the assessed value to 3% or the Consumer
Price Index (CPI), whichever is less. This benefit is
called “Save Our Homes Cap (SOH Cap)”, and over
time may result in savings of thousands of dollars.

Property owners with Homestead Exemption and
an accumulated SOH Cap can apply to transfer (or
“Port”) the SOH Cap value (up to $500,000) to a new
homestead property. This application is known as the
“Transfer of Homestead Assessment Difference”,
and the annual deadline to file for this benefit and any
other property tax exemption is March 1st.

FRAUDULENT OR UNDESERVED

HOMESTEAD EXEMPTION
When someone receives an exemption they are not
entitled to, he or she is evading the payment of
taxes. The burden of the unpaid taxes shifts to the
rest of the Miami-Dade County property owners and
the affected community services, such as children’s
education, police, fire rescue and other local services
provided to our residents (Ref. Sections 196.161 &
196.011, Florida Statutes).

RENTING YOUR HOME ON
JANAURY 1ST
You will not be eligible for Homestead
Exemption if your home is rented on January 1st,
and you will lose your SOH Cap. However, upon
termination of the rental, and subsequently making the
property your permanent residence by January 1st
of the following year, you must file a new application
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on or before March 1st of that year to receive a new
Homestead Exemption (Ref. Sections 193.155 &
196.061, Florida Statutes).

RENTING YOUR HOME WHEN YOU
HAVE HOMESTEAD EXEMPTION
You may lose your Homestead Exemption and
the SOH Cap if you rent your home and have
Homestead Exemption. However, state law may
allow you to rent your home for a short
period of time without affecting your Homestead
Exemption (Ref. Section 196.061, Florida Statutes).
When renting your home periodically for more than
30 days in two consecutive years, you will be ineligible
for the Homestead Exemption or the SOH Cap. For
example, if your rent for a total of 35 days in year one
and 31 days in year two, you will no longer qualify for
the Homestead Exemption and you will lose your SOH
Cap (Ref. Sections 193.155, Florida Statutes). Failure
to timely report the rental of your home may result
in your Homestead Exemption and SOH Cap benefit
being collected retroactively plus 50% penalty and 15%
interest per year* by way of a recorded lien against
your property (Ref. Section 193.155, Florida Statutes).

*If the granting of the benefit is due as a result of
a clerical error or omission by the Office of the
Property Appraiser, no penalties or interests will be
assessed, but the base amount of taxes are still due.

CONTACT US:

www.miamidade.gov/PA

M pawebmail@miamidadepa.gov

78 305-375-4712

Follow us on Facebook and Twitter: (@MiamiDadePA



Tasador de Inmuebles
del Condado de Miami-Dade

Todo lo que necesita saber
acerca de la exencion homestead

EXENCION HOMESTEAD Y BENEFICIOS

DE IMPUESTOS INMOBILIARIOS
La exencién homestead es un valioso beneficio de
impuestos inmobiliarios que puede ahorrar a los
propietarios de viviendas hasta $50,000 del valor
imponible. I.a exenciéon homestead incluye un ben-
eficio adicional que limita al 3% el incremento anual
del valor tasado o del Indice de Precios al Consumi-
dor (CPI, por sus siglas en inglés), lo que sea menor.
Este beneficio se conoce como el limite del programa
“Save Our Homes”, SOH (en espafiol, ‘Salvemos
nuestros Hogares’), y con el tiempo puede generar
ahorros de miles de doélares.

Los duefios de propiedades que tengan una exencion
homestead, y hayan acumulago el limite del programa
SOH, pueden presentar una solicitud para transferir
(“portabilidad”) elvalordellimite SOH (hasta$500,000)
a una nueva propiedad homestead. Esta solicitud se
conoce como la “transferencia de la diferencia de la
tasacion homestead”, y la fecha limite anual para
solicitar ese beneficio, y cualqui-
er otra exencion de impuesto
inmobiliario, es el 1 de marzo.

EXENCION HOMESTEAD FRAUDULENTA
O NO MERECIDA
Cuando una persona recibe una exenciéon a la
que no tiene derecho, esta evadiendo el pago
de impuestos. La carga de esos impuestos no
pagados recae sobre el resto de los duefios de
propiedades en el Condado de Miami-Dade vy
de los servicios comunitarios afectados, como la
educacion infantil, la policia, los bomberos y otros

servicios locales ofrecidos a los residentes (Ref.
secciones 196.161 y 196.911, Estatutos de la Florida).

ALQUILAR SU VIVIENDA AL 1 DE ENERO
Si su vivienda esta alquilada al 1 de enero, usted no
reunira los requisitos para recibir una exencion
homestead y perdera el limite del programa
SOH; sin embargo, una vez que deje de
alqullar la vivienda y por consiguiente la propiedad
vuelva a ser su residencia permanente al 1 de
enero del afio siguiente, es preciso que presente una
nueva solicitud antes del 1 marzo, a %n £3 recibir una

nueva exencion homestead (Ref. secciones 193.155 y
196.061, Estatutos de la Florida).
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ALQUILAR SU VIVIENDA QUE TIENE
UNA
EXENCION HOMESTEAD

Si usted alquila la vivienda y tiene una exencion
homestead, puede que pierda la exencion
homestead y el limite del programa SOH; no
obstante, puede que la ley del estado le
permita alqullar su vivienda durante un periodo de
tiempo corto, sin afectar la exencidon homestead (Ref.
Seccion 196.061, Estatutos de la Florida). St alquila la
vivienda después del 1 de enero por mas de 30 dias
durante dos afos seguidos, usted ya no reunird los
requisitos para recibir la exencién homestead o el
beneficio del limite de programa Save Our Homes. Por

cjemplo, si usted renta la vivienda por un total de 35
dias enunanoy 31 dias el segundo ano, usted ya no sera
admisible para recibir la exencion homestead y perdera
el beneficio del limite del programa Save Our Homes.
(Ref. Seccion 193.155, Estatutos de la Florida). Si no
reportademaneraoportunaelalquilerdesuvivienda,esto
puedetraerconsigoquesecobredemaneraretroactivala
exencion homestead y el limite del programa SOH,
una multa del 50% mas 15%* de interés por afo,
mediante la imposicion de un gravamen a su
propiedad (Ref. Seccion 193.155, Estatutos de la
Florida).

*Si la concesion del beneficio es resultado de un
error administrativo o de una omisién por parte de la

Oficina del Tasador de Inmuebles, no se
impondra  ninguna multa o interés, pero
aun se debera la cantidad base de los
impuestos.

CONTACTENOS:

www.miamidade.gov/PA

M pawebmail@miamidadepa.gov
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Tout Sa Ou Dwe Konnen
Sou Egzanpsyon Homestead

EGZANPSYON HOMESTEAD AK
AVANTA]J TAKS SOU PWOPRIYETE
Egzanpsyon Homestead se yon bonjan
avantaj taks sou pwopriyete ki ka fé pwopriyete kay
ckonomize jiska $50,000 sou vale taksab yo.
Egzanpsyon = Homestead genyen ladan yon
avantaj anplis ki limite ogmantasyon anyel vale
evalye a 3% oswa Endis Pri Konsomasyon
an (CPI, sig angle), kelkeswa sa ki mwens lan.
Avantaj sa a rele “Save Our Homes Cap (SOH
Cap)”, epi apre kek tan, li ka lakoz ekonomi plizye

milye dola.

Pwopriyete ki gen Egzanpsyon Homestead ak yon
Cap SOH akimile ka aplike pou transfere (oswa
“Pote”) vale SOH Cap la (jiska $500,000) nan yon
nouvo pwopriyete homestead. Aplikasyon sa a
ke yo rekonet kom “Transfe diferans evalyasyon
Homestead”, epi dat limit anyel pou aplike pou
avantaj sa a ak kelkeswa 1ot egzanpsyon taks sou
pwopriyete se lye mas.

EKZANPSYON HOMESTEAD KI GEN
FWOD OSWA MAL SEVI
Le¢ yon moun resevwa yon egzanpsyon ke li pa
dwe resevwa, li ap f¢ evazyon fiskal. Chay taks ke
yo pa peye yo tonbe sou res pwopriyete Konte
Miami-Dade yo ak se¢vis kominote ki afekte yo ,
tankou edikasyon timoun, lapolis, ponpye ak 1ot
sevis lokal nou bay rezidan nou yo (Ref. Seksyon

196,161 & 196,911, Lwa Florid).

LWE KAY OU NAN DAT 1YE JANVYE
Si yon moun lwe kay ou nan lye janvye, ou pap
elijib pou Egzanpsyon Homestead, epi ou va pedi
SOH Cap ou. Pa egzanp, si ou lwe kay ou nan
dat lye janvye ane sa a, ou pap elijib pou resevwa
Egzanpsyon Homestead oswa SOH Cap. L¢ lwaye
a fini, epi imedyatman ou fé pwopriyete a tounen
rezidans pemanan ou apati lye janvye ane annapre
a, ou dwe ranpli yon nouvo aplikasyon
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pa pi ta pase lye mas nan ane sa a pou w resevwa
yon nouvo Egzanpsyon Homestead (Ref. Seksyon
193.155 & 196.061, Lwa Florid).

LWE KAY OU LE W GEN YON EGZAN-
PSYON HOMESTEAD

St ou lwe kay ou, epi ou gen egzanpsyon,ou ka
pedi Egzanpsyon Homestead ou ak SOH Cap la.
Sepandan, lwa eta a ka pemet ou Iwe kay ou pou
yon peryod tou kout san sa pa afekte Egzanpsyon
Homestead ou (Ref. Seksyon 196.061 Lwa Florid)

. Le w ap lwe kay ou pou plis pase 30 jou nan de
(2) ane konsekitif, ou pap elijib pou Egzanpsyon
Homestead la oswa SOH Cap la. Pa egzanp, si ou
lwe kay ou pou yon total 35 jou nan premye ane
a ak 31 jou nan dezyem ane a, ou pap elijib pou
Egzanpsyon Homestead epi ou va pedi SOH Cap
ou (Ref. Seksyon 193.155 Lwa Florid). St ou pa
rapote Iwaye kay ou al¢, sa ka lakoz yo fe koleksyon
retwoaktif Egzanpsyon Homestead ak avantaj
SOH Cap ou an plis 50% penalite ak 15%* entere
pa ane l¢ yo mete yon lyen kont pwopriyete w la

(Ref. Seksyon 193.155, Lwa Florid).

*S1 yo akode avantaj la akoz yon ere biwo oswa
yon omisyon Biwo Evalyate Pwopriyete a, pa gen
okenn penalite oswa entere yo pral evalye, men ou
toujou dwe kantite lajan baz taks la.

KONTAKTE NOU:

www.miamidade.gov/PA

22 305-375-4712

M pawebmail@miamidadepa.gov

Swiv non son Facebook ak Twitter: (@MiamiDadePA





